OPERATION SLIM & TRIM: WEEK 1

imageFITNESS REGIMEN FOR A NEW MOMMY.  It has been one month since the birth of my daughter and now it’s time to get physical. I promised myself the time to heal and get in a routine with our tiny tot. I figured most people are still on their New Year weightloss kick, so I wanted to share my plan and maybe get a few tips. Here’s my plan:

SET REALISTIC GOALS

This Week’s Goals:

1. Walk 3 times per week for 30 minutes.

2. Workout 2 time this week doing calisthenics (push-ups, sit-ups and squats).

3. Eat 4 times a day

4. Drink 100oz of water per day

5. Sleep for at least 4-5 consecutive hours per day.

Weightloss Goals:

1. Measurements: 34-27-38

2. Weight: 150 pounds (I’m not focused on my weight number.)

3. Fit back into my clothes, which range from size 6-8.

HAVE A PLAN

Okay, so my goals are set. I will do some food prep tomorrow to make things easy for the week. Here are a few key tips:

Cooking protein for the entire week.

Washing & portioning out fruits & veggie snacks.

Making homemade healthy snacks like trail mix.

Prepping smoothie ingredients in mason jars.

Keeping reusable bottles of water ready to go in the fridge.

HOLD YOURSELF ACCOUNTABLE

image image image

I have decided to take a picture of the body I have now to show accountability and motivate myself. I will be able to see better results by taking a picture in the same outfit each week.

I have managed to shed a good amount of weight and I am excited to finally start exercising!

HAVE A SUPPORT SYSTEM

My beau has decided to join me on my journey. He wants to shed a few pounds he probably picked up supporting me through the pregnancy. This helps me out tremendously, because I won’t have to worry about him eating pizza and ice cream in front of me. We will do workouts together and challenge each other, which is great for us both.

KNOW YOUR LIMITS

I am not a calorie counter or a food journalist. There’s no reason for me to attempt in doing either one of these, but I am not against taking a picture of what I’m eating each meal. Also, I am not going to go cold turkey on everything delicious. However, I will indulge in moderation. I am hoping by keeping realistic expectations I will have success.

Most importantly, there will be a cheat day or two in the plan. The goal is as the fitness plan gets harder each week and more disciplined, I may not need or want a cheat day.

Well, this is my plan. I know I should sleep more, but we have a newborn baby. I would love feedback, any tips or workout suggestions for a new mother.

Thanks for stopping by!

2 responses to “OPERATION SLIM & TRIM: WEEK 1

  1. I would say the most important thing is to not beat yourself up if you have an off day with eating or not getting a workout in. Do what you can when you can and always listen to your body. You are already on a great track setting and writing down your goals. Congrats on your new little bundle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment